News

News and Updates From Around The Web

1 2 3 121

Amazon Studios has put in development two hourlong genre drama series, East of West and Transhuman, from comic book creator Jonathan Hickman based on his graphic novels. He is teaming on both projects with another comic book creator, The Walking Dead‘s Robert Kirkman who will executive produce via his company’s Skybound Entertainment’s first-look deal at Amazon Studios.

Both projects will be created and executive produced by Hickman and Nick Dragotta and J.M. Ringuet, the artists on Hickman’s Image Comics books East of West (Dragotta) and Transhuman (Ringuet). East of West will be written by Hickman, I hear search is underway for a writer to pen the Transhuman adaptation.

Also executive producing both shows are Skybound’s Kirkman, Alpert, Sean Furst and Bryan Furst (Dice). Additionally,  Transhuman will be executive produced by Josh Adler (Stash House).

East of West is set in a reimagined Western landscape where America is divided into seven nations. This iconic science fiction series follows “Death” as he braves his fellow riders, monsters, and corrupt gunslingers in his quest to save his mortal family from the Apocalypse.

Transhuman is a science fiction drama set in the near future. The show centers around a divorced couple, who ran rival major corporations, offering humans the ability to genetically and robotically enhance themselves.

“Nick, J.M. and I couldn’t be more excited to be working with Skybound and Amazon,” said Hickman. “We feel very strongly about each project and couldn’t be more appreciative of how far both companies have gone to make us feel welcome. We look forward to doing the work and hopefully doing it well.”Hickman is behind the award-winning East of West, Black Monday Murders and The Manhattan Projects comics series. He’s also a New York Times bestselling author who wrote the Avengers, Secret Wars and the Fantastic Four for Marvel Comics.

Hickman is repped by Verve, Circle of Confusion and Katz Golden Rosenman.East of West and Transhuman are part of Amazon’s push in big-scope genre drama series as the streaming service is looking for a tentpole series in that arena.

Source: Amazon Developing ‘East Of West’ & ‘Transhuman’ Genre Series | Deadline

A new report indicates DC Films is currently seeking writers to work on a movie version of the 2007 limited series “The Highwaymen” being set up at New Line reports That Hashtag Show.

The 2007 limited comic book series followed a pair of elite deliverymen with a special knack for handling hazardous cargo, who are now both over the hill and separated by bad blood. The retired pair are then reluctantly called back into action.

In the wake of the report, creators Adam Freeman and Marc Bernardin both took to Twitter to express delight at the news.

Source: New Line Planning A “Highwaymen” Film? – Dark Horizons

The hot new series, GIDEON FALLS, from the creative team behind Green Arrow and Old Man LoganNew York Times bestselling and Eisner Award-winning writer Jeff Lemire (ROYAL CITY, DESCENDER) and critically acclaimed artist Andrea Sorrentino—is being rushed back to print again. Issue #1 of the dread-inducing series is being rushed back to print a third time in order to keep up with the frenzied customer demand.

GIDEON FALLS is a series that explores the lives of a reclusive young man obsessed with a conspiracy in the city’s trash, and a washed up Catholic priest arriving in a small town full of dark secrets. At the heart of the town’s secrets is the mysterious legend of the Black Barn, an otherworldly building that is alleged to have appeared in both the city and the small town, throughout history, bringing death and madness in its wake.

GIDEON FALLS #1 remains available for purchase across all digital platforms, including the Image Comics website (imagecomics.com), the official Image Comics iOS app, Comixology’s website (comixology.com), iOS, Android, and Google Play.

 

Source: Lemire & Sorrentino’s GIDEON FALLS is unstoppable

In celebration of SyFy Channel’s forthcoming TV series adaptation of Rick Remender and Wes Craig’s bestselling DEADLY CLASS, Image Comics is pleased to announce Google Play and ComiXology digital sales going on now through Monday, April 23rd.

It’s back to school for fans of DEADLY CLASS! Stock up on digital editions of the bestselling series by Rick Remender and Wes Craig and binge-read the series before the forthcoming SyFy TV show airs. Bone up on this ’80s punk-influenced story about a school for assassins—because at King’s Dominion High School for the Deadly Arts, the dagger in your back isn’t always metaphorical.

SyFy ordered DEADLY CLASS to pilot in September of last year, and Remender and Miles Orion Feldsott adapted the popular series for television. They will also serve as executive producers alongside Joe Russo, Anthony Russo, and Mike Larocca. Adam Targum from Chipmunk Hill also served as executive producer on the pilot, along with Lee Toland Krieger, who also directed. Sony Pictures Television and Universal Cable Productions will produce.

Source: Image Comics celebrates the forthcoming SyFy adaptation of DEADLY CLASS with digital edition flash sales 

A new rumor has popped up indicating that this year’s “Call of Duty: Black Ops 4” will NOT include a traditional single-player story mode, the first mainline game in the series to ship without a campaign.

Polygon reported the story and when reached for comment, an Activision spokesperson told them: “We don’t comment on rumor and speculation. We look forward to revealing Black Ops 4 on May 17th.”

Sources for the site say as the release date approached, it was evident the single-player campaign wouldn’t be completed and so Treyarch has refocused development on expanding multiplayer and the series’ popular Zombies mode.

There will also be an emphasis on co-op as a potential stand-in for the typical single-player campaign experience. The game series initially built acclaim around its single-player campaigns but those have gotten shorter and shorter as the series became increasingly synonymous with multiplayer.

Activision is expected to ship a remaster of “Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2” this year as well, and that will focus on the single-player campaign as it will be shipping without the original game’s multiplayer component.

“Call of Duty: Black Ops 4” is scheduled for release on October 12th on PlayStation 4, Windows PC and Xbox One.

American Gods producer FremantleMedia North America has acquired the rights to Astro City superhero comic book series to develop as a live-action TV drama series.

Despite the fact that the comic books’ current publisher, DC Comics, is owned by Warner Bros., Busiek owns all of the rights to Astro City, which he will now exploit in TV with FMNA. The Astro City comics, created by writer Kurt Busiek and artists Brent Anderson and Alex Ross, spans 16 (and counting) standalone yet loosely-connected story arcs containing more than 2,000 original characters. It is claimed to be the last, fully fleshed out superhero universe in the English language comic book business that has not been exploited for the screen.  Astro City made its debut in 1995 with Image Comics and is currently published by DC Comics. Continue reading

Sometimes you have to fight fire with fire…or in this case, venom with venom.

The turtles find themselves in a brutal fight with Bane and his army, and while they put up a strong showing, Bane eventually gets the upper hand and is about to slam Raphael over his knee (just like a certain Dark Knight) when Splinter interferes. Splinter manages to dodge his attacks for a minute but eventually gets taken down.

The Turtles retreat and get Splinter to safety, but Donatello feels incredibly guilty over causing this in the first place. He brings up possibly using Bane’s Venom to fight back, but while Raphael supports his decisions, the others aren’t on board. Donatello does it anyway though, creating a Venom rig of his own and injecting it, which bulks him up considerably.

TMNT-Batman-Donatello-Bane-2
He then takes out a huge group of Bane’s army by himself, going from hideout to hideout and knocking them off one by one. Unfortunately, it isn’t all good news.

In #5 though he learns that while the Venom increases his bulk and strength, it also fees into his anger and rage, and makes him, well, a bit hard to reason with. Batman and Leonardo do their best but it isn’t until they make him realize they need his mind, not his muscles, to take back the city.

Batman/Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles II #5 is written by Ryan Ferrier and James Tynion IV with art by Freddie E. Williams II and Jeremy Colwell. The official description is included below.

“A Venom-charged Donnie wages a brutal, one-Turtle war on the Foot Clan. Batman has to stop him and remind him of who he really is; someone who uses smarts—not brawn—to take down the bad guys. Damian and Raphael pay a visit to the Lazarus Pit to try and help a wounded Splinter. Then Batman tries to turn a former foe into an ally as part of a desperate attempt to finally end the reign of Bane.”

Batman/Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles II #5 is in comic stores now.

Source: DC’s New Bane Is A Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtle

After surviving a near fatal bovine attack, a disfigured cafeteria chef (Wade Wilson) struggles to fulfill his dream of becoming Mayberry’s hottest bartender while also learning to cope with his lost sense of taste. Searching to regain his spice for life, as well as a flux capacitor, Wade must battle ninjas, the yakuza, and a pack of sexually aggressive canines, as he journeys around the world to discover the importance of family, friendship, and flavor – finding a new taste for adventure and earning the coveted coffee mug title of World’s Best Lover.

In Theaters May 18, 2018

The steampunk adventure begins in THE FAMILY TRADE, VOL. 1 by Justin Jordan (LUTHER STRODE), Nikki Ryan, and Morgan Beem this April from Image Comics.

THE FAMILY TRADE introduces readers to an island city in a world where history didn’t quite turn out like ours… Here a hidden family of spies, thieves, and assassins make sure that the world keeps going—or they did—until Jessa Wynn, their youngest member, manages to start a civil war.

Begin the fantasy journey into a world of swashbuckling intrigue on a floating city filled with charm and perfect for fans of Emily Carroll’s Through the Woods, Tony Cliff’s Delilah Dirk, and Jen Wang’s The Prince and the Dressmaker.

THE FAMILY TRADE, VOL. 1 (Diamond Code JAN180666, ISBN: 978-1-5343-0511-3) will be available in comic book stores on Wednesday, April 11th and in bookstores on Tuesday, April 17th. It can be pre-ordered on AmazonBarnes & NobleBooks-a-MillionIndieBound, and Indigo.

WATCH THE FAMILY TRADE, VOL. 1 VIDEO TRAILER

 

Source: Steampunk, assassins, and adventure collide in THE FAMILY TRADE, VOL. 1 

Atari’s upcoming console, its first in 20 years, is officially named Atari VCS.

Atari unveiled the console’s name today alongside two controller prototypes and an official logo. The first controller is a joystick reminiscent of the Atari 2600’s, while the second resembles a modern Xbox controller, complete with asymmetrical analog sticks and ABXY buttons. A preorder date for Atari VCS will be revealed in April.

Continue reading

1 2 3 121
Sign up for our weekly newsletter to find out where we will be as well as all of our upcoming events!