News

News and Updates From Around The Web

The hot new series, GIDEON FALLS, from the creative team behind Green Arrow and Old Man LoganNew York Times bestselling and Eisner Award-winning writer Jeff Lemire (ROYAL CITY, DESCENDER) and critically acclaimed artist Andrea Sorrentino—is being rushed back to print again. Issue #1 of the dread-inducing series is being rushed back to print a third time in order to keep up with the frenzied customer demand.

GIDEON FALLS is a series that explores the lives of a reclusive young man obsessed with a conspiracy in the city’s trash, and a washed up Catholic priest arriving in a small town full of dark secrets. At the heart of the town’s secrets is the mysterious legend of the Black Barn, an otherworldly building that is alleged to have appeared in both the city and the small town, throughout history, bringing death and madness in its wake.

GIDEON FALLS #1 remains available for purchase across all digital platforms, including the Image Comics website (imagecomics.com), the official Image Comics iOS app, Comixology’s website (comixology.com), iOS, Android, and Google Play.

 

Source: Lemire & Sorrentino’s GIDEON FALLS is unstoppable

In celebration of SyFy Channel’s forthcoming TV series adaptation of Rick Remender and Wes Craig’s bestselling DEADLY CLASS, Image Comics is pleased to announce Google Play and ComiXology digital sales going on now through Monday, April 23rd.

It’s back to school for fans of DEADLY CLASS! Stock up on digital editions of the bestselling series by Rick Remender and Wes Craig and binge-read the series before the forthcoming SyFy TV show airs. Bone up on this ’80s punk-influenced story about a school for assassins—because at King’s Dominion High School for the Deadly Arts, the dagger in your back isn’t always metaphorical.

SyFy ordered DEADLY CLASS to pilot in September of last year, and Remender and Miles Orion Feldsott adapted the popular series for television. They will also serve as executive producers alongside Joe Russo, Anthony Russo, and Mike Larocca. Adam Targum from Chipmunk Hill also served as executive producer on the pilot, along with Lee Toland Krieger, who also directed. Sony Pictures Television and Universal Cable Productions will produce.

Source: Image Comics celebrates the forthcoming SyFy adaptation of DEADLY CLASS with digital edition flash sales 

A new rumor has popped up indicating that this year’s “Call of Duty: Black Ops 4” will NOT include a traditional single-player story mode, the first mainline game in the series to ship without a campaign.

Polygon reported the story and when reached for comment, an Activision spokesperson told them: “We don’t comment on rumor and speculation. We look forward to revealing Black Ops 4 on May 17th.”

Sources for the site say as the release date approached, it was evident the single-player campaign wouldn’t be completed and so Treyarch has refocused development on expanding multiplayer and the series’ popular Zombies mode.

There will also be an emphasis on co-op as a potential stand-in for the typical single-player campaign experience. The game series initially built acclaim around its single-player campaigns but those have gotten shorter and shorter as the series became increasingly synonymous with multiplayer.

Activision is expected to ship a remaster of “Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2” this year as well, and that will focus on the single-player campaign as it will be shipping without the original game’s multiplayer component.

“Call of Duty: Black Ops 4” is scheduled for release on October 12th on PlayStation 4, Windows PC and Xbox One.

American Gods producer FremantleMedia North America has acquired the rights to Astro City superhero comic book series to develop as a live-action TV drama series.

Despite the fact that the comic books’ current publisher, DC Comics, is owned by Warner Bros., Busiek owns all of the rights to Astro City, which he will now exploit in TV with FMNA. The Astro City comics, created by writer Kurt Busiek and artists Brent Anderson and Alex Ross, spans 16 (and counting) standalone yet loosely-connected story arcs containing more than 2,000 original characters. It is claimed to be the last, fully fleshed out superhero universe in the English language comic book business that has not been exploited for the screen.  Astro City made its debut in 1995 with Image Comics and is currently published by DC Comics. Continue reading

Sometimes you have to fight fire with fire…or in this case, venom with venom.

The turtles find themselves in a brutal fight with Bane and his army, and while they put up a strong showing, Bane eventually gets the upper hand and is about to slam Raphael over his knee (just like a certain Dark Knight) when Splinter interferes. Splinter manages to dodge his attacks for a minute but eventually gets taken down.

The Turtles retreat and get Splinter to safety, but Donatello feels incredibly guilty over causing this in the first place. He brings up possibly using Bane’s Venom to fight back, but while Raphael supports his decisions, the others aren’t on board. Donatello does it anyway though, creating a Venom rig of his own and injecting it, which bulks him up considerably.

TMNT-Batman-Donatello-Bane-2
He then takes out a huge group of Bane’s army by himself, going from hideout to hideout and knocking them off one by one. Unfortunately, it isn’t all good news.

In #5 though he learns that while the Venom increases his bulk and strength, it also fees into his anger and rage, and makes him, well, a bit hard to reason with. Batman and Leonardo do their best but it isn’t until they make him realize they need his mind, not his muscles, to take back the city.

Batman/Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles II #5 is written by Ryan Ferrier and James Tynion IV with art by Freddie E. Williams II and Jeremy Colwell. The official description is included below.

“A Venom-charged Donnie wages a brutal, one-Turtle war on the Foot Clan. Batman has to stop him and remind him of who he really is; someone who uses smarts—not brawn—to take down the bad guys. Damian and Raphael pay a visit to the Lazarus Pit to try and help a wounded Splinter. Then Batman tries to turn a former foe into an ally as part of a desperate attempt to finally end the reign of Bane.”

Batman/Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles II #5 is in comic stores now.

Source: DC’s New Bane Is A Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtle

After surviving a near fatal bovine attack, a disfigured cafeteria chef (Wade Wilson) struggles to fulfill his dream of becoming Mayberry’s hottest bartender while also learning to cope with his lost sense of taste. Searching to regain his spice for life, as well as a flux capacitor, Wade must battle ninjas, the yakuza, and a pack of sexually aggressive canines, as he journeys around the world to discover the importance of family, friendship, and flavor – finding a new taste for adventure and earning the coveted coffee mug title of World’s Best Lover.

In Theaters May 18, 2018

The steampunk adventure begins in THE FAMILY TRADE, VOL. 1 by Justin Jordan (LUTHER STRODE), Nikki Ryan, and Morgan Beem this April from Image Comics.

THE FAMILY TRADE introduces readers to an island city in a world where history didn’t quite turn out like ours… Here a hidden family of spies, thieves, and assassins make sure that the world keeps going—or they did—until Jessa Wynn, their youngest member, manages to start a civil war.

Begin the fantasy journey into a world of swashbuckling intrigue on a floating city filled with charm and perfect for fans of Emily Carroll’s Through the Woods, Tony Cliff’s Delilah Dirk, and Jen Wang’s The Prince and the Dressmaker.

THE FAMILY TRADE, VOL. 1 (Diamond Code JAN180666, ISBN: 978-1-5343-0511-3) will be available in comic book stores on Wednesday, April 11th and in bookstores on Tuesday, April 17th. It can be pre-ordered on AmazonBarnes & NobleBooks-a-MillionIndieBound, and Indigo.

WATCH THE FAMILY TRADE, VOL. 1 VIDEO TRAILER

 

Source: Steampunk, assassins, and adventure collide in THE FAMILY TRADE, VOL. 1 

Atari’s upcoming console, its first in 20 years, is officially named Atari VCS.

Atari unveiled the console’s name today alongside two controller prototypes and an official logo. The first controller is a joystick reminiscent of the Atari 2600’s, while the second resembles a modern Xbox controller, complete with asymmetrical analog sticks and ABXY buttons. A preorder date for Atari VCS will be revealed in April.

Continue reading

Eisner-nominated writer Christopher Sebela (High CrimesHeartthrobWe(l)come Back), artist Joshua Hixson (The Black Woods), and letterer Hassan Otsmane-Elhaou (Felix & Macabber) team up for the all-new revenge thriller SHANGHAI RED, coming this June from Image Comics.

“Moving to Portland, Oregon was the thing that jump-started my comics career, so I wanted to pay it back the best way I know how: by putting it in a book,” said Sebela. “After studying its history and going on a tour of the Shanghai Tunnels, I came out with Red, our main character. She’s as bloody and complicated as the city she’s come back to, and getting to do justice to both of them alongside Josh and Hassan has made this book a dream/nightmare come true for me.”

Red is one of hundreds shanghaied out of Portland in the late 1800s. Drugged, kidnapped, and sold to a ship’s captain, she wakes up on a boat headed out to sea for years, unable to escape or reveal who she truly is. Now, she’s on her way back, in a boat covered in blood, to find her family—and to track down the men responsible for stealing her life out from under her. Continue reading

Strap in for an all-new science fiction tale from
Joseph Keatinge and Bret Blevins

Writer Joseph Keatinge (GLORY, SHUTTER) and legendary artist Bret Blevins (New MutantsSleepwalker) team up for the spacefaring series STELLAR—created by Robert Kirkman and Marc Silvestri—this June from Image Comics/Skybound Entertainment.

Stellar was taken as a child and transformed into the ultimate weapon, one that would end an intergalactic war. She succeeded…at everything except finding peace. Now, she’s reduced to bounty hunting, scouring the worlds she’s broken in search of redemption.

But there are other weapons loose in the galaxy, and it seems they just can’t leave the war behind them. Continue reading

Sign up for our weekly newsletter to find out where we will be as well as all of our upcoming events!